Saturday, June 9, 2018

pacing guide

first day business

Course outline
First day business
Traditional Collage
Digital Collage
Scanning
Introduction to Photoshop
    
Art elements
Line
Line_Aboriginal art
Culture tree
Shape_shape drawing lesson
Space
Value
Color
Texture
Surrealistic room
Split personality
   
Elements & Principles of Design the assignments part 1 only

Personal Mandala
Face collage
Self Portrait
Grid Drawing
Split Personality
Time exposures and Painting with Light




april 4_8 selfies






Assignment:
Take a photo of yourself (or have someone take it) and work with it in Photoshop.

Steps:
1. Take photo & email to topperselfie@gmail.com
today, April 6. Be sure to include your name. 
  • You could use one of our cameras and just save on an SD card. 
  • You could use Photo Booth.
  • I will check at 12:00 today.
2. I will upload photos to Dropbox.
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/vs1b4ifi6o8n2wp/AABKy3IRz-dpeGwmL8c4l2YCa?dl=0
3. You download and open in Photoshop. Save as
Your first & last name_original. Then save as Your first & last name_working. Save onto your desktop.
Due April 8.

Remember, if you do not complete daily assignments when they are due, you receive a 50. You cannot make assignments up unless you were absent.

Try filters





1. From your "working" document, apply Filter>Artistic>Cutout. Save as Your first & last name_cutout.
2. From your "working" document, apply Filter>Sketch>Chrome. Save as Your first & last name_chrome.
3. From your "working" document, apply Filter>Stylize>Solarize. Save as Your first & last name_solarize.
4. From your "working" document, apply your choice of a filter.  Save as Your first & last name_my choice.

Due on Thursday, April 14. I'll check work at noon.

By Friday, April 22, copy all 4 documents into one Photoshop document.

Width: 8 inches
Height: 10 inches
Resolution: 200
Save as your name_self portrait





link to standards and more information
http://digitalarthillwood.blogspot.com/2013/02/digital-self-portrait.html

line art






inspiration........I hope



go here for the assignment

http://art1hillwood.blogspot.com/2011/09/line-art-in-color.html

face collage

Standards:

Standard 1.0 Media, Techniques and Processes
Students will understand and apply media, techniques, and processes. 

Standard 2.0 Structures and Functions 
Students will use knowledge of both structures and functions. 

What I want you to know:
1. How to copy photos into a Photoshop document
2. How to resize photos on layers
3. How to delete a background on a photo
4. How to apply a filter

Assignment:


Make a collage


Trace over the collage using ink and tracing paper

Scan the tracing. Email it to topperselfie@gmail.com.
Download from Dropbox.
Color in Photoshop.










Andy Warhol style

Pop Art link

Click here for an online tutorial:




                   or use the Cutout Filter








Instructions


Be sure your photo is high contrast. That means strong shadows and highlights.

Black and white is best, but if not, we can convert it to black and white.

Be sure the photo is high resolution. 

Create a Photoshop document and place the photo in it. 

Go to Layer>Rasterize>Layer or Smart Object.

Important: Make a copy of this layer by pressing Command+J.

Go to Filter>Artistic>Cutout

In the Cutout window, play with combinations of Number of Levels, Edge Simplicity and Edge Fidelity until you get what you like. Sometimes this effect is even better if you Save, click on Filters>Artistic>Cutout again and keep the same settings.

Fill in colors with the Paint Bucket Tool. 

If you don't see the Tool Palette, layers, etc……

Your art will look best if you stick to one color for each Number of Levels you chose in the Cutout window. If you  have 4 levels,  just use 4 colors, one for each level. This example is 6 levels, edge simplicity 3, edge fidelity 1. 

If you are not getting color when you use the Paint Bucket, go to Image>Mode>RGB Color

Color the photo using the Paint Bucket.

When you get something you really like, go to File>Save or press Command+J again. You now have a new layer, and you can always go back to the earlier one.

Zoom in and out with the Zoom Tool, or, even better, go Window>Navigator.

If you make a mistake, go to Edit>Undo or go to Window>History and click back up toward the top of the window until you get back where you want. You can go back to the last 20 steps.











digital collage


standards

Standard 1.0 Media, Techniques and Processes
Students will understand and apply media, techniques, and processes. 
Course Level Expectations (CLEs)
The student will
1.1 Demonstrate the use of knowledge and technical skills in at least one specific medium. 
1.2 Demonstrate an understanding of the safe and responsible use of art media and tools. 
1.3 Create visual art that communicates ideas through the use of media, techniques, and processes. 
1.4 Analyze, synthesize, and evaluate the application of media, techniques, and processes
used to solve visual art problems.

Standard 2.0 Structures and Functions Students will use knowledge of both structures and functions. Course Level Expectations (CLEs) The student will
2.1 Demonstrate an understanding of the elements of art and the principles of design. 
2.2 Critique organizational components (structures) and expressive qualities (functions) of a
work of art. 
2.3 Evaluate the function of a work of art as to utilitarian or intrinsic purposes. 
2.4 Apply problem-solving skills to create solutions to a specific visual art task.

Standard 3.0 Evaluation
Students will choose and evaluate a range of subject matter, symbols, and ideas. 



objectives (what I want you to know or do)

How to create a digital collage in Photoshop
How to use the paint bucket tool in Photoshop
How to use the scanner
Create visual art that communicates ideas through the use of media, techniques, and processes. 
Demonstrate an understanding of the elements of art and the principles of design.

the assignment (instructions, specifications and criteria): 
Create a digital collage using your traditional collage. Use tracing paper and a fine line marker (I have these) to trace outlines from your collage. Color this in Photoshop.

Your final product may look like this:



assessment


art mastery rubric

4_advanced_93-100 points.  A strong amount of work has been completed. All instructions & specifications met. A comprehensive and wide-ranging exploration of visual qualities, the representation of ideas, media experiments, and technical practice is demonstrated. The work reflects superior thought and imagination.

3_proficient_85-92 points.  A reasonable amount of work has been completed. Most instructions and specifications met. The work illustrates satisfactory exploration of visual qualities, and the representation of ideas. There is satisfactory evidence of work on images, media experiments, and technical practice.

2_basic_75-84 points. A small amount of work has been completed. Some instructions and specifications met. The work illustrates some exploration of visual qualities, the representation of ideas. There is some evidence of work on images, media experiments and technical practice.

1_below basic_74 and below. A less than adequate amount of work has been completed. There is little evidence of work on images, media, and technical practice.

50_No work attempted

about this class


What is this class about?
It is called Digital Art

We 
  • draw
  • paint
  • collage
  • photograph
  • and more..........
and end up with digital images, like 









mandala in photoshop_dec 1_5

In this assignment you will download a high resolution image and color it using Photoshop.




What I want you to know:
How to find a high resolution online image and download it to your desktop.
How to color the image using the Photoshop paint bucket tool.

Directions:
Go online and find a high resolution image of a mandala. Bigger numbers usually mean higher resolution and sharper images.

Be sure your file is .jpg or .png. Do not use a .gif file.











Click on the image (once or sometimes twice for maximum size).

Click, hold, and drag the image to your desktop.

Click, hold, and drag the image to the Photoshop icon to open it in Photoshop.

Color it using the paint bucket tool.

Here is a good link for mandalas.
http://www.thebuddhacenter.org/buddhism-for-children/mandalas-and-symbols-to-colour/