Thursday, September 20, 2018

Monday, September 3, 2018

Personal Mandala assignment


Assignment: Personal Mandala
Description: 
   You will create a mandala that reflects 
your personality, your interests and/or your cultural background.
   Your design should have an image of you or 
your name. 
   You should have at least 8 images 
representing your personality, interests 
and/or culture. You can create the mandala in
Photoshop, on paper (will be scanned and saved in Photoshop), or a combination of both. 

Standards:

CREATE     
PRODUCE 
RESPOND 
CONNECT

Create
1. Generate and conceptualize artistic ideas and work.
2. Organize and develop artistic ideas and work.
3. Refine and complete artistic work.

Produce
2. Develop and refine artistic work for production.

Connect
1. Synthesize and relate knowledge and personal experiences to artistic endeavors.
2. Relate artistic ideas and works with societal, cultural, and historical 
context.

Objectives
•Create a personal mandala
•Download art and place it in a Photoshop document
•Digitize artwork in Photoshop
•Use Photoshop tools correctly
•Take a photograph and place it in a Photoshop document
•Create original art in a Photoshop document
•Email finished artwork correctly


Your grade:
4_advanced_93-100 points. A strong amount of work has been completed. All 
instructions & specifications met. A comprehensive and wide-ranging exploration
 of visual qualities, the representation of ideas, media experiments, and technical 
practice is demonstrated. The work reflects superior thought and imagination.

3_proficient_85-92 points. A reasonable amount of work has been completed. 
Most instructions and specifications met. The work illustrates satisfactory exploration
 of visual qualities, and the representation of ideas. There is satisfactory evidence of 
work on images, media experiments, and technical practice.

2_basic_75-84 points. A small amount of work has been completed. 
Some instructions and specifications met. The work illustrates some exploration 
of visual qualities, the representation of ideas. There is some evidence of work on 
images, media experiments and technical practice.

1_below basic_74 and below. A less than adequate amount of work 
has been completed. There is little evidence of work on images, media, 
and technical practice.

0_No work attempted


Assignment directions and specifications:
•Create a mandala described above
  note: If you want to find and download a mandala, search for JPEG 
mandala>images>tools>size>large
  or 
  you can use these links for download..........


Important: check Photoshop 
document and image size with me 
after you download and open in Photoshop
•Color all areas
•Use paint bucket, gradient, and pattern
•Use your photo or your name
•To paste an image into a specific area:
Use the Magic Wand Tool to select an area of your mandala
http://stevecampbellhillwood.blogspot.com/2015/12/photoshop-tools-explained.html
Open the image you want to paste into this area
Go to Select All
Go to Edit>Copy
Go to the your mandala with the selected area
In Photoshop, go to Edit>Paste Special>Paste into
You will probably need to resize the image you just pasted. Go to View>Fit on Screen to see the actual size of the image you just pasted.
•8 or more additional images
•Save and email the photo....correctly

Examples:
































https://drive.google.com/file/d/1klS_qHEFZYizDptmgfCVvo1IkEQxsnsQ/view?usp=sharing

Saturday, September 1, 2018

sept 4_7 mandala 2 & personal mandala

No phones except for classwork.
If your phones are out during instruction, place them face down. 

Do not listen to music in the classroom. No earbuds or headphones. 


Today and this week:

•Seating
•Be sure you have Chrome in your Dock
•Be sure Photoshop is in your dock
•Notes: Culture (text only)
•Email Mandala 2 
   review of mandala 2
http://digitalarthillwood.blogspot.com/2018/09/mandala-2.html
•New Assignment: Personal mandala
    go to:
http://digitalarthillwood.blogspot.com/2018/08/personal-mandala.html

mandala 2


Assignment: Mandala 2
https://clipartuse.com/simple-heart-mandala-coloring-pages-133313

https://clipartuse.com/mandala-coloring-pages-butterfly-126434

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1V0sJmy-uPbpLMIu9_9MKljaxAWiGdE-z?usp=sharing



Standards:

CREATE     
PRODUCE 
RESPOND 
CONNECT

Create
1. Generate and conceptualize artistic ideas and work.
2. Organize and develop artistic ideas and work.
3. Refine and complete artistic work.

Produce
2. Develop and refine artistic work for production.

Connect
1. Synthesize and relate knowledge and personal experiences to artistic endeavors.

2. Relate artistic ideas and works with societal, cultural, and historical context.

Assignment:

•Download another simple line art Mandala and open it in Photoshop
•Title it your first and last name_Mandala 2
•Be sure you have the Move Tool selected. Select Auto Select>Layer.
•In Photoshop, in very top bar, go to Window. Check Workspace>Essentials, Layers, Application frame, Options, Tools
•Select the mandala layer and press the Command+j on your keyboard
•Turn off the bottom mandala layer by clicking on the eye icon
•Go to the magic wand tool and select an area of the mandala. You will see "marching ants" 
•Select the gradient tool and pick a gradient that you like
•Apply the gradient color to the selection by clicking, holding and dragging
•Go to Select>Deselect
•Save
•Repeat, using different gradients in some areas
•Make a new selection
•At the bottom of the layers palette, click on the "adjustments" icon

















•Click on "Pattern" and select pattern fill
















•Apply pattern and gradients to selected area
•Select>Deselect

•Go to Save As and save as a JPEG.
http://stevecampbellhillwood.blogspot.com/2015/11/saving-as-jpeg.html

•Send an email and attach your JPEG to

topperselfie@gmail.com. Type your name, block and "mandala 2" in the subject line.


 Assessments     


Summative: 20 points each
1. Specifications (size, resolution, color mode, typography)
2. Tools used correctly
3. Document saved correctly
4. Correct quantity and type of images
5. Digital effects applied correctly

Wednesday, August 1, 2018

mid term exam review


Digital Art midterm review
For the exam, know the following:

Review what you did in NOTES

To create a new document in  Photoshop go to File>New

To move type or shapes on a layer you should select the desired layer and select the Move Tool on the Tools Palette 

Given a choice of type point sizes, identify which is larger or smaller. For example, 14 point type is smaller than 72 point. 

To create the correct Photoshop workspace for this class, go to Window>Workspace>Essentials 

Draw a particular Photoshop Tool

List 4 things you could do for extra credit in this class

To type words on a new Photoshop layer, select the Typing Tool and click once in the document window

To resize an image in Photoshop, go to Edit>Transform>Scale or Edit>Free Transform. If you do not see handles on the resize box, go to View>Fit on Screen. When the image is the size you want it, click on the check mark in the Options Bar to apply the transformation. If the transformation is not what you want, click on the cancel button. 

When you have resized type or a custom shape, click on the check mark in the Photoshop Options Bar to Apply the Transformation, or press the enter/return key on your keyboard.

The best way to open a JPEG (JPG) file is drag the jpeg file icon to the Photoshop icon. Double clicking a JPEG file is not the best way to open this file to work on it in Photoshop.

In the layers palette, the two the visual clues that tell you a layer is visible and active are: 
1. you see an eye,  and 2. that the layer is highlighted blue. 

You make a layer invisible by clicking once on the eye on that layer. You can make it visible again by clicking on the blank space where the eye was originally.   

To select a type layer so that you can change the color of the type on that layer, double click on the  uppercase “T” in the layers palette. 

More Photoshop Tool information https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/tools.html

Know how to create and name a new folder according to directions and save it on the desktop or into your documents folder

Know how to open Photoshop and create a Photoshop document correctly

Know how to navigate to the photoshop help links at stevecampbell.hillwood@blogspot.com

An image is considered high resolution if it has horizontal or vertical pixel dimensions (ppi) of 1000 ppi or larger

Before you begin working on a Photoshop document, it is a good idea to go to Windows and place a check mark by Workspace>Essentials, Layers, Application Frame, Options, Tools

What should you do if you have resized an image and do not want to keep that size?
Click the cancel button in the options bar


To resize an image, go to 
Edit>Free Transform

Compositing is another word for layering several images in Photoshop.

To scale an image using Edit>Free Transform and keep the exact proportions, press and hold the shift key while dragging from a corner. 

The best Photoshop tool for erasing solid color backgrounds surrounding an image is the Magic Eraser Tool

The preferred tool to use when filling in an area with a solid color is the Paint Bucket Tool

To be sure that you are able to select the exact layer you want to work on while using the Move Tool, you should go to the Options Bar and Check Auto Select>Layer

Tossing or throwing items such as pencils, erasers, and paper is not permitted in the classroom 

You should never make contact with electrical items such as cords, keyboards, etc. when your hands are wet and/or if the cords show exposed wires.